Central Asian Universities Association was established under the leadership of KTMU.

On April 29, 2016, the "Central Asian Universities Association" was established under the leadership of Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University (KTMU).

29 universities from 15 countries attended the event, which includes Central Asia and neighboring countries.

It is expected that the Association will play an important role in scientific, economic, social and cultural cooperation in Central Asia. It is planned to contribute to the strengthening of the cooperation between the countries of the region, and to prepare the ground for the rapprochement between the nations and peoples of the region.

Speaking at the signing ceremony, Rector Prof. Dr. Sebahattin Balcı said that international cooperations and joint actions are important especially for higher education institutions. Prof.Dr. Balcı said that cooperation between the institutions will help to increase the relations between the countries, Balcı emphasized the belief that the Central Asian Universities Association will grow rapidly and become a means to charities.

KTMU Deputy Rector Asılbek Kulmırzayev started his speech with giving information about the Central Asian Universities Association and then he said that he hopes that this union will become operational in the direction of educational and scientific goals and will contribute to the welfare of the people.

University representatives from Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia, Tajikistan and Turkey participated in the signing ceremony also expressed their opinions about this new formation.

KTMU Rector Prof.Dr. Balcı will lead the Central Asian Universities Association with the Union Executive Board for 3 years.